Most Recently Added Most commentedby pub dateBy Title | A-ZBy Author | A-Z

How Not to Be Wrong: The Power of Mathematical Thinking

June 23, 2014

71sRtBYBYqL

Author:
Jordan Ellenberg
Publisher:
Penguin Press HC, The (2014)

The Freakonomics of matha math-world superstar unveils the hidden beauty and logic of the world and puts its power in our hands
The math we learn in school can seem like a dull set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In How Not to Be Wrong, Jordan Ellenberg shows us how terribly limiting this view is: Math isn’t confined to abstract incidents that never occur in… read more

Quantum, Relativity, Consciousness And Beyond: A Scientific Quest for Ultimate Reality

June 4, 2014

cover

Author:
Shan Gao
Publisher:
Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing (2014)

Notwithstanding the great advances in modern science, there are some deep, unexplained mysteries, and our current world view is still fragmented. On the one hand, the two pillars of modern physics, namely relativity and quantum theory, are not only incomplete respectively but also incompatible with each other. Moreover, they are difficult to understand and even incomprehensible. On the other hand, there is a deeper mystery concerning our most familiar… read more

Pathways to the Future: The Robot Revolt

May 29, 2014

cover

Author:
David Mills
Publisher:
Amazon Digital Services, Inc. (2014)

Sandra Lightning was a hybrid: part computer, all woman. Her job: secretly penetrate the largest robot manufacturing company on Earth, use her unique talents to spy on them, find out what secret plans they are fermenting and investigate the role of their robots in several mysterious deaths.

Sandra is joined by Denver Smith, forced to leave his comfortable niche as a graduate student when his life is threatened.… read more

Smarter Than Us: The Rise of Machine Intelligence

November 24, 2014

1939311098.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
Stuart Armstrong
Publisher:
Machine Intelligence Research Institute (2014)

What happens when machines become smarter than humans? Forget lumbering Terminators. The power of an artificial intelligence (AI) comes from its intelligence, not physical strength and laser guns. Humans steer the future not because we’re the strongest or the fastest but because we’re the smartest. When machines become smarter than humans, we’ll be handing them the steering wheel. What promises — and perils — will these powerful machines present?… read more

Biopolitics: A Transhumanist Paradigm

May 1, 2014

cover

Author:
Stefano Vaj
Publisher:
La Carmelina Edizioni (2014)

This seminal and controversial essay, the Italian original of which appeared in print in 2003, contains a coherent and passionate pro-tech discussion of most issues relevant to biopolitics and “wet” transhumanism, in the light of continental philosophies of Becoming — namely those of Nietzschean, Futurist and posthumanist descent, as the crucial questions of our age and collective destinies.

As such, it offers a transhumanist and Promethean perspective on what… read more

Struck by Genius: How a Brain Injury Made Me a Mathematical Marvel

April 18, 2014

9780755364589

Author:
Jason Padgett, Maureen Ann Seaberg
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2014)

The remarkable story of an ordinary man who was transformed when a traumatic injury left him with an extraordinary gift

No one sees the world as Jason Padgett does. Water pours from the faucet in crystalline patterns, numbers call to mind distinct geometric shapes, and intricate fractal patterns emerge from the movement of tree branches, revealing the intrinsic mathematical designs hidden in the objects around us.

Yet… read more

Consciousness Encounters Quantum Physics: A Scientific Argument for Panpsychism

May 5, 2014

cover

Author:
Shan Gao
Publisher:
Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing (2014)

Consciousness is the most familiar phenomenon. Yet it is the hardest one to explain. Even today, it is still unclear whether and how consciousness emerges from mere matter or whether consciousness is a fundamental property of matter. The crux of the issue is to decide if consciousness has causal efficacies in the physical world, which is not classical but quantum at the deepest level. If consciousness is fundamental as… read more

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

April 7, 2014

creativity_inc

Author:
Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace
Publisher:
Random House (2014)

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve… read more

The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism

April 10, 2014

1137278463.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
Jeremy Rifkin
Publisher:
Palgrave Macmillan (2014)

In The Zero Marginal Cost Society, New York Times bestselling author Jeremy Rifkin describes how the emerging Internet of Things is speeding us to an era of nearly free goods and services, precipitating the meteoric rise of a global Collaborative Commons and the eclipse of capitalism.

Rifkin uncovers a paradox at the heart of capitalism that has propelled it to greatness but is now taking it to its… read more

Between Ape and Artilect: Conversations with Pioneers of Artificial General Intelligence and Other Transformative Technologies

May 5, 2014

1496138171.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
Ben Goertzel
Publisher:
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2014)

Between Ape and Artilect is edited by noted AI researcher Ben Goertzel, and produced by futurist organization Humanity+. During 2010-12, Dr. Goertzel conducted a series of textual interviews with researchers in various areas of cutting-edge science — artificial general intelligence, nanotechnology, life extension, neurotechnology, collective intelligence, mind uploading, body modification, neuro-spiritual transformation, and more. These interviews were published online in H+ Magazine, and are here gathered together in a… read more

Best of H+ Magazine, Vol.1: 2008–2010

March 10, 2014

Best-of-H+

Author:
R.U. Sirius, Ben Goertzel, David Orban
Publisher:
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2014)

Best of H+ Magazine, Vol. 1 is edited by counterculture legend R.U. Sirius, and brought to you by futurist organization Humanity+. It is our great privilege to live in an era when H+ — the extension of humanity beyond its traditional biological form — is not merely fantasy but a reasonable description of the practical, everyday unfolding of science and technology. H+ Magazine has provided a venue for edgy,… read more

3D Printing: Rise of the Third Industrial Revolution

March 10, 2014

cover

Author:
Aaron Council, Michael Petch, Edward Long
Publisher:
gyges3d.com (2014)

Have you ever wondered what a world where any item you desired was available at the click of a button would look like?

In 2014, 3D printing will go mainstream. 3D Printing: Rise of the Third Industrial Revolution scrutinizes what this will mean for the world and the future of humanity.

The ability for anyone to print guns, drugs, or iPhones is getting closer. This means a… read more

Dragnet Nation: A Quest for Privacy, Security, and Freedom in a World of Relentless Surveillance

February 24, 2014

0805098070.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
Julia Angwin
Publisher:
Times Books (2014)

An inside look at who’s watching you, what they know and why it matters. We are being watched.

We see online ads from websites we’ve visited, long after we’ve moved on to other interests. Our smartphones and cars transmit our location, enabling us to know what’s in the neighborhood but also enabling others to track us. And the federal government, we recently learned, has been conducting a massive… read more

The Future of the Mind: The Scientific Quest to Understand, Enhance, and Empower the Mind

September 17, 2013

kaku_future_mind

Author:
Michio Kaku
Publisher:
Doubleday (2014)

The New York Times best-selling author of Physics of the Impossible, Physics of the Future and Hyperspace tackles the most fascinating and complex object in the known universe: the human brain.

For the first time in history, the secrets of the living brain are being revealed by a battery of high tech brain scans devised by physicists. Now what was once solely the province of science fiction has become a startling reality. Recording memories, telepathy, videotaping… read more

Extreme Planets: A Science Fiction Anthology of Alien Worlds

March 19, 2014

713WnEs-wfL

Author:
David Conyers, David Kernot, Jeff Harris
Publisher:
Chaosium Inc. (2014)

Two decades ago astronomers confirmed the existence of planets orbiting stars other than our Sun. Today more than 800 such worlds have been identified, and scientists now estimate that at least 160 billion star-bound planets are to be found in the Milky Way Galaxy alone. But more surprising is just how diverse and bizarre those worlds are.

Extreme Planets is a science fiction anthology of stories set on… read more

close and return to Home