bookshelf by year

Average Is Over: Powering America Beyond the Age of the Great Stagnation

November 11, 2013

Average is Over

author |
Tyler Cowen
year published |
2013

Widely acclaimed as one of the world’s most influential economists, Tyler Cowen returns with his groundbreaking follow-up to the New York Times bestseller The Great Stagnation.

The widening gap between rich and poor means dealing with one big, uncomfortable truth: If you’re not at the top, you’re at the bottom.

The global labor market is changing radically thanks to growth at the high end — and the low. About three… read more

The Future of the Mind: The Scientific Quest to Understand, Enhance, and Empower the Mind

September 17, 2013

kaku_future_mind

author |
Michio Kaku
year published |
2014

The New York Times best-selling author of Physics of the Impossible, Physics of the Future and Hyperspace tackles the most fascinating and complex object in the known universe: the human brain.

For the first time in history, the secrets of the living brain are being revealed by a battery of high tech brain scans devised by physicists. Now what was once solely the province of science fiction has become a startling reality. Recording memories, telepathy, videotaping… read more

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

April 7, 2014

creativity_inc

author |
Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace
year published |
2014

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve… read more

Augmented Dreams

June 13, 2013

augmented_dreams

author |
Stephen B. Kagan
year published |
2013

Augmented Dreams is an allegory of the modern mind (psyche) struggling to find balance between the roots of our ancestors and the modern world in a time of accelerating change. It is a palimpsest that takes place at the intersection between advanced technology, ancient myth, gaming and environmentalism.

Ben, a nature friendly virtual artist (world-weaver) and dream researcher follows a trail of darkness on an odyssey through different worlds… read more

Pwning Tomorrow: Stories from the Electronic Frontier

December 18, 2015

pwning-tomorrow-cover

author |
Neil Gaiman, Bruce Sterling, Lauren Beukes, Cory Doctorow, Carolyn Jewel, Annalee Newitz and others
year published |
2015

As part of EFF’s 25th Anniversary celebration, we’re releasing a Creative Commons-licensed anthology of short fiction! The ebook is called “Pwning Tomorrow: Stories from the Electronic Frontier,” and it features speculative fiction from more than 20 authors, including Bruce Sterling, Lauren Beukes, Cory Doctorow, and Charlie Jane Anders.

The authors in this collection explore the wonders and perils of technology over the next 25 years and beyond,… read more

The Future: Six Drivers of Global Change

June 18, 2013

The Future_Six Drivers of Global Change

author |
Al Gore
year published |
2013

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the former vice president and #1 New York Times bestselling author comes An Inconvenient Truth for everything—a frank and clear-eyed assessment of six critical drivers of global change in the decades to come.

Ours is a time of revolutionary change that has no precedent in history. With the same passion he brought to the challenge of climate change, and with his decades of experience on the front… read more

The Coming Jobs War

November 17, 2016

coming-jobs-war-cover

author |
Jim Clifton
year published |
2011

Definitive leadership strategy for fixing the American economy, drawn from Gallup’s unmatched global polling and written by the company’s chairman.

What everyone in the world wants is a good job. “This is one of the most important discoveries Gallup has ever made,” says the company’s Chairman, Jim Clifton.

In The Coming Jobs War, Clifton makes the bold assertion that job creation and successful entrepreneurship are the world’s… read more

@War: The Rise of the Military-Internet Complex

December 18, 2014

0544251792.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

author |
Shane Harris
year published |
2014

A surprising, page-turning account of how the wars of the future are already being fought today
The United States military currently views cyberspace as the “fifth domain” of warfare (alongside land, air, sea, and space), and the Department of Defense, the National Security Agency, and the CIA all field teams of hackers who can, and do, launch computer virus strikes against enemy targets. In fact, as @WAR shows, U.S. hackers were crucial… read more

Happy-People-Pills For All

September 5, 2013

happy people pills for all

author |
Mark Walker
year published |
2013

Happy-People-Pills for All explores current theories of happiness while demonstrating the need to develop advanced pharmacological agents for the enhancement of our capacity for happiness and well-being.

  • Presents the first detailed exploration of the enhancement of happiness
  • A controversial yet rigorous argument that demonstrates the moral imperative for the development and mass distribution of ‘happy-pills’, to promote the wellbeing of the individual and society
  • Brings together

read more

Digital Teaching Platforms: Customizing Classroom Learning for Each Student

March 22, 2012

digitalteachingplatforms1

author |
Chris Dede, John Richards
year published |
2012

The Digital Teaching Platform (DTP) brings the power of interactive technology to teaching and learning in classrooms.

In this authoritative book, top researchers in the field of learning science and educational technology examine the current state of design and research on DTPs, the principles for evaluating them, and their likely evolution as a dominant medium for educational improvement.

The authors examine DTPs in… read more

Rationality: From AI to Zombies

December 26, 2015

Rationality

author |
Eliezer Yudkowsky
year published |
2015

What does it actually mean to be rational? Not Hollywood-style “rational,” where you forsake all human feeling to embrace Cold Hard Logic. Real rationality, of the sort studied by psychologists, social scientists, and mathematicians. The kind of rationality where you make good decisions, even when it’s hard; where you reason well, even in the face of massive uncertainty; where you recognize and make full use of your… read more

La Singularidad Está Cerca: Cuando los Humanos Transcendamos la Biología

January 4, 2013

La singularidad esta cerca

author |
Ray Kurzweil
year published |
2012

La Singularidad está cerca es la obra maestra de uno de los pensadores más influyentes de nuestros días, el ingeniero e inventor Ray Kurzweil. Este libro se centra en lo que el autor llama la ley de los rendimientos acelerados, una ley que ha de llevar a la humanidad a un escenario donde se producirá una singularidad tecnológica, un explosión de inteligencia que transformará el mundo de… read more

The Big Book of Hacks: 264 Amazing DIY Tech Projects

October 1, 2013

The Big Book of Hacks

author |
Doug Cantor
year published |
2012

Fire up your soldering iron, charge up that drill, and get ready to hack! From a tiny theremin to a watermelon keg, from an automatic cat feeder to a glowing mousepad, the ingenious and hilarious projects in The Big Book of Hacks are perfect for aspiring makers. And it’s all brought to you by the DIY masters at Popular Science magazine.

Four comprehensive chapters help you create megafun games and toys for… read more

Human Being @ Risk: Enhancement, Technology, and the Evaluation of Vulnerability Transformations (Philosophy of Engineering and Technology)

March 14, 2013

Human Being @ Risk

author |
Mark Coeckelbergh
year published |
2013

Whereas standard approaches to risk and vulnerability presuppose a strict separation between humans and their world, this book develops an existential-phenomenological approach according to which we are always already beings-at-risk. Moreover, it is argued that in our struggle against vulnerability, we create new vulnerabilities and thereby transform ourselves as much as we transform the world. Responding to the discussion about human enhancement and information technologies, the book then shows… read more

Thinking Machines: The Quest for Artificial Intelligence and Where It’s Taking Us Next

March 17, 2017

thinking-machines-cover

author |
Luke Dormehl
year published |
2017

A fascinating look at Artificial Intelligence, from its humble Cold War beginnings to the dazzling future that is just around the corner.

When most of us think about Artificial Intelligence, our minds go straight to cyborgs, robots, and sci-fi thrillers where machines take over the world. But the truth is that Artificial Intelligence is already among us. It exists in our smartphones, fitness trackers, and refrigerators that tell us… read more

close and return to Home