Recently Added by year publishedBy Author | A-Z

Centauri Dreams: Imagining and Planning Interstellar Exploration

April 9, 2009

centauri dreams

author |
Paul Gilster
year published |
2004

Why, today, would anyone undertake a plan to launch a spacecraft some 30 years in the future, and on a journey that would take some 40 years to complete? Paul Gilster investigates the science, and the spirit, of the NASA and JPL researchers who are actually at work on just such a project.  — Science Daily

Cerebrum 2010: Emerging Ideas in Brain Science

January 6, 2011

9781932594492

author |
Dana Press
year published |
2010

Amazon | Cerebrum 2010 offers a feast for readers keen to know what the world’s leading thinkers see as the newest ideas and implications arising from discoveries about the brain. Drawn from Cerebrum’s highly regarded Web edition, this fourth annual collection brings together the foremost experts in brain science. Jay Giedd, Michael Posner, Mariale Hardiman, David Kupfer and Paul McHugh present their research — and their take — on such cutting-edge topics… read more

Choke: What the Secrets of the Brain Reveal About Getting It Right When You Have To

April 24, 2012

Choke_Cover_Final

author |
Sian Beilock
year published |
2011

Why do the smartest students often do poorly on standardized tests?

Why did you tank that interview or miss that golf swing when you should have had it in the bag?

Why do you mess up when it matters the most — and how can you perform your best instead?

It happens to all of us. You’ve prepared for days, weeks, even years for the big… read more

Citizen Cyborg: Why Democratic Societies Must Respond to the Redesigned Human of the Future

July 16, 2010

Citizen Cyborg: Why Democratic Societies Must Respond to the Redesigned Human of the Future

author |
James Hughes
year published |
2004

Amazon | In the next fifty years, life spans will extend well beyond a century. Our senses and cognition will be enhanced. We will have greater control over our emotions and memory. Our bodies and brains will be surrounded by and merged with computer power. The limits of the human body will be transcended as technologies such as artificial intelligence, nanotechnology, and genetic engineering converge and accelerate. With them,… read more

Civilization: The West and the Rest

February 13, 2013
author |
Niall Ferguson
year published |
2012

Western civilization’s rise to global dominance is the single most important historical phenomenon of the past five centuries

How did the West overtake its Eastern rivals? And has the zenith of Western power now passed? Acclaimed historian Niall Ferguson argues that beginning in the fifteenth century, the West developed six powerful new concepts, or “killer applications”—competition, science, the rule of law, modern medicine, consumerism, and the work ethic—that… read more

Classified Woman — The Sibel Edmonds Story: A Memoir

May 21, 2012

sibel-edmonds

author |
Sibel D Edmonds
year published |
2012

Amazon | In this startling new memoir, Sibel Edmonds — the most classified woman in U.S. history — takes us on a surreal journey that begins with the secretive FBI and down the dark halls of a feckless Congress to a stonewalling judiciary and finally, to the national security whistleblowers movement she spearheaded. Having lived under Middle East dictatorships, Edmonds knows firsthand what can happen when government is allowed to… read more

Cloud Atlas: A Novel

October 9, 2012

Cloud Atlas

author |
David Mitchell
year published |
2004

Now a major motion picture starring Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Susan Sarandon, and Hugh Grant, and directed by Lana and Andy Wachowski and Tom Tykwer

A postmodern visionary who is also a master of styles of genres, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian lore of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco and Philip… read more

Code/Space: Software and Everyday Life

May 26, 2011

Code/Space cover image

author |
Rob Kitchin, Martin Dodge
year published |
2011

Amazon | After little more than half a century since its initial development, computer code is extensively and intimately woven into the fabric of our everyday lives. From the digital alarm clock that wakes us to the air traffic control system that guides our plane in for a landing, software is shaping our world: it creates new ways of undertaking tasks, speeds up and automates existing practices,… read more

Collider: The Search for the World’s Smallest Particles

April 6, 2011

Collider book cover

author |
Paul Halpern
year published |
2010

Amazon | An accessible look at the hottest topic in physics and the experiments that will transform our understanding of the universe

The biggest news in science today is the Large Hadron Collider, the world’s largest and most powerful particle-smasher, and the anticipation of finally discovering the Higgs boson particle. But what is the Higgs boson and why is it often referred to as the God Particle?… read more

Coming of Age in Second Life: An Anthropologist Explores the Virtually Human

September 14, 2015

0691135282.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

author |
Tom Boellstorff
year published |
2008

Millions of people around the world today spend portions of their lives in online virtual worlds. Second Life is one of the largest of these virtual worlds. The residents of Second Life create communities, buy property and build homes, go to concerts, meet in bars, attend weddings and religious services, buy and sell virtual goods and services, find friendship, fall in love–the possibilities are endless, and all encountered through… read more

Communication with Extraterrestrial Intelligence

July 6, 2011

CETI book cover

author |
Douglas A. Vakoch
year published |
2011

SUNY Press | Highlights the most recent developments in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (SETI), and advocates a diverse range of approaches to make SETI increasingly more powerful and effective in the years to come.

In April 2010, fifty years to the month after the first experiment in the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence (SETI), scholars from a range of disciplines — including astronomy, mathematics, anthropology, history,… read more

Complexity: A Guided Tour

June 7, 2011

Complexity: A Guided Tour book cover

author |
Melanie Mitchell
year published |
2009

Amazon | What enables individually simple insects like ants to act with such precision and purpose as a group? How do trillions of individual neurons produce something as extraordinarily complex as consciousness? What is it that guides self-organizing structures like the immune system, the World Wide Web, the global economy, and the human genome? These are just a few of the fascinating and elusive questions that the… read more

Composing a Further Life: The Age of Active Wisdom

February 16, 2011

Composing a Further Life book cover

author |
Mary Catherine Bateson
year published |
2010

Amazon | From the author of Composing a Life (first published in 1991 and still in print), an inspiring exploration of a new stage of the life cycle, “Adulthood II,” created by unprecedented levels of health, energy, time, and resources — of which we have barely begun to be fully conscious.

Mary Catherine Bateson sees aging today as an “improvisational art form calling for imagination and willingness to… read more

Computing with Quantum Cats: From Colossus to Qubits

March 20, 2014

1616149213.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

author |
John Gribbin
year published |
2014

A mind-blowing glimpse into the near future, where quantum computing will have world-transforming effects.

The quantum computer is no longer the stuff of science fiction. Pioneering physicists are on the brink of unlocking a new quantum universe which provides a better representation of reality than our everyday experiences and common sense ever could.

The birth of quantum computers — which, like Schrödinger’s famous “dead and alive” cat,… read more

Connectography: Mapping the Future of Global Civilization

May 6, 2016

Connectography

author |
Parag Khanna
year published |
2016

From the visionary bestselling author of The Second World and How to Run the World comes a bracing and authoritative guide to a future shaped less by national borders than by global supply chains, a world in which the most connected powers—and people—will win.

Connectivity is the most revolutionary force of the twenty-first century. Mankind is reengineering the planet, investing up to ten trillion dollars per year in transportation, energy, and communications infrastructure… read more

close and return to Home