Most Recently Added Most commentedby pub dateBy Title | A-ZBy Author | A-Z

Counterspace: The Next Hours of World War III

July 13, 2010

Counterspace: The Next Hours of World War III

Author:
William B. Scott, Michael J. Coumatos, William J. Birnes
Publisher:
Forge Books (2009)

Amazon | In Space Wars, Scott, Coumatos, and Birnes created a fascinating war gaming scenario of how World War III might unfold in above the Earth’s surface.  Now this thrilling team of writers reunites with Counterspace, an even more chilling fictionalized look at America’s most catastrophic fears.

What if North Korea detonated a nuclear weapon in space and silenced dozens of satellites?

What if an Iranian missile… read more

Creating Innovators

October 29, 2012

Creating Innovators

Author:
Tony Wagner
Publisher:
Scribner (2012)

In this groundbreaking book, education expert Tony Wagner provides a powerful rationale for developing an innovation-driven economy. He explores what parents, teachers, and employers must do to develop the capacities of young people to become innovators. In profiling compelling young American innovators such as Kirk Phelps, product manager for Apple’s first iPhone, and Jodie Wu, who founded a company that builds bicycle-powered maize shellers in Tanzania, Wagner reveals how… read more

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

April 7, 2014

creativity_inc

Author:
Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace
Publisher:
Random House (2014)

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve… read more

Crux

August 9, 2013

crux-cover

Author:
Ramez Naam
Publisher:
Angry Robot (2013)

Six months have passed since the release of Nexus 5.  The world is a different, more dangerous place.

In the United States, the terrorists — or freedom fighters — of the Post-Human Liberation Front use Nexus to turn men and women into human time bombs aimed at the President and his allies. In Washington DC, a government scientist, secretly addicted to Nexus, uncovers more than he wants to know… read more

Culturing Life: How Cells Became Technologies

March 27, 2012

culturinglife

Author:
Hannah Landecker
Publisher:
Harvard University Press (2007)

Amazon | How did cells make the journey, one we take so much for granted, from their origin in living bodies to something that can be grown and manipulated on artificial media in the laboratory, a substantial biomass living outside a human body, plant, or animal? This is the question at the heart of Hannah Landecker’s book. She shows how cell culture changed the way we think about such central… read more

Cyber War: The Next Threat to National Security and What to Do About It

August 4, 2011

Cyber War book cover

Author:
Richard A. Clarke, Robert K. Knake
Publisher:
Ecco (2010)

Amazon | Richard A. Clarke warned America once before about the havoc terrorism would wreak on our national security — and he was right. Now he warns us of another threat, silent but equally dangerous. Cyber War is a powerful book about technology, government, and military strategy; about criminals, spies, soldiers, and hackers. This is the first book about the war of the future — cyber war — and a convincing argument… read more

Cybernetic Revelation: Deconstructing Artificial Intelligence

December 10, 2012

Cybernetic Revelation

Author:
JD Casten
Publisher:
Post Egoism Media (2012)

Cybernetic Revelation explores the dual philosophical histories of deconstruction and artificial intelligence, tracing the development of concepts like the “logos” and the notion of modeling the mind technologically from pre-history to contemporary thinkers like Slavoj Žižek, Steven Pinker, Bernard Stiegler and Daniel C. Dennett. The writing is clear and accessible throughout, yet the text probes deeply into major philosophers seen by JD Casten as “conceptual engineers.”

Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know

February 26, 2014

0199918112.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
P. W. Singer
Publisher:
Oxford University Press, USA (2014)

A generation ago, “cyberspace” was just a term from science fiction, used to describe the nascent network of computers linking a few university labs. Today, our entire modern way of life, from communication to commerce to conflict, fundamentally depends on the Internet. And the cybersecurity issues that result challenge literally everyone: politicians wrestling with everything from cybercrime to online freedom; generals protecting the nation from new forms of attack,… read more

Cycles of Time: An Extraordinary New View of the Universe

May 5, 2011

Cycles of Time book cover

Author:
Roger Penrose
Publisher:
Knopf (2011)

Amazon | From the best-selling author of The Emperor’s New Mind and The Road to Reality, a groundbreaking book that provides new views on three of cosmology’s most profound questions: What, if anything, came before the Big Bang? What is the source of order in our universe? What is its ultimate future?

Current understanding of our universe dictates that all matter will eventually thin out to zero density,… read more

Daemon

September 3, 2010

daemon

Author:
Daniel Suarez
Publisher:
Signet (2009)

Amazon | Originally self-published, Suarez’s riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills and cyber suspense. Gaming genius Matthew Sobol, the 34-year-old head of CyberStorm Entertainment, has just died of brain cancer, but death doesn’t stop him from initiating an all-out Internet war against humanity. When the authorities investigate Sobol’s mansion in Thousand Oaks, Calif., they find… read more

Dark Ages II: When the Digital Data Die

June 17, 2011

Dark Ages 2 book cover

Author:
Bryan Bergeron
Publisher:
Pearson Education (2001)

The Book Depository | Today, most of the world’s data is stored in media and formats that are frighteningly ephemeral: Web sites and email stores that are here today and gone tomorrow; magnetic media that isn’t proven to last; document and e-book formats that quickly become obsolete. In Dark Ages II, Bryan Bergeron shows why our data is at far greater risk than we’ve ever imagined — and… read more

Darkmarket: Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You

June 27, 2012

dark_market

Author:
Misha Glenny
Publisher:
Bodley Head (2011)

The benefits of living in a digital, globalised society are enormous; so too are the dangers. The world has become a law enforcer’s nightmare and every criminal’s dream. We bank online, shop online, date, learn, work and live online. But have the institutions that keep us safe on the streets learned to protect us in the burgeoning digital world? Have we become complacent about our personal security — sharing… read more

Day One: A Novel

October 4, 2013

Day One A Novel

Author:
Nate Kenyon
Publisher:
Thomas Dunne Books (2013)

THE FUTURE IS HERE AND IT DOESN’T NEED YOU

In Nate Kenyon’s Day One, scandal-plagued hacker journalist John Hawke is hot on the trail of the explosive story that might save his career. James Weller, the former CEO of giant technology company Eclipse, has founded a new start-up, and he’s agreed to let Hawke do a profile on him. Hawke knows something very big is in the works at Eclipse—and… read more

Decoding Reality: The Universe as Quantum Information

April 30, 2012

decoding-reality

Author:
Vlatko Vedral
Publisher:
Oxford University Press (2010)

Amazon | In Decoding Reality, Vlatko Vedral offers a mind-stretching look at the deepest questions about the universe — where everything comes from, why things are as they are, what everything is.

The most fundamental definition of reality is not matter or energy, he writes, but information — and it is the processing of information that lies at the root of all physical, biological, economic, and social phenomena. This view allows Vedral… read more

Deep Future: The Next 100,000 Years of Life on Earth

April 4, 2011

Deep Future book cover

Author:
Curt Stager
Publisher:
Thomas Dunne Books (2011)

Amazon | A bold, far-reaching look at how our actions will decide the planet’s future for millennia to come.

Imagine a planet where North American and Eurasian navies are squaring off over shipping lanes through an acidified, ice-free Arctic. Centuries later, their northern descendants retreat southward as the recovering sea freezes over again. And later still, future nations plan how to avert an approaching Ice Age… by… read more

close and return to Home