Recently Added by year publishedBy Author | A-Z

Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide

September 13, 2010

convergenceculture

author |
Henry Jenkins
year published |
2006

Reed Business Information | Henry Jenkins, founder and director of MIT’s comparative media studies program, debunks outdated ideas of the digital revolution in this remarkable book, proving that new media will not simply replace old media, but rather will learn to interact with it in a complex relationship he calls “convergence culture.”  The book’s goal is to explain how convergence is currently impacting the relationship among media… read more

Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities

April 1, 2014

1940689007.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

author |
Kevin Kelly
year published |
2013

Cool Tools is a highly curated selection of the best tools available for individuals and small groups. Tools include hand tools, maps, how-to books, vehicles, software, specialized devices, gizmos, websites — and anything useful. Tools are selected and presented in the book if they are the best of kind, the cheapest, or the only thing available that will do the job. This is an oversized book which reviews over… read more

Cosmigraphics

November 24, 2014

717vQ4pvw+L

author |
Michael Benson
year published |
2014

Michael Benson tells the thrilling story of the discovery and description of the universe in a new way. Selecting artful and profound illustrations and maps, many hidden away in the world’s great science libraries and virtually unknown today, he chronicles more than 1,000 years of humanity’s ever-expanding understanding of the size and shape of space itself. He shows how the invention of the telescope inspired visions of unimaginably distant… read more

Cosmos & Culture: Cultural Evolution in a Cosmic Context

October 21, 2010
year published |
2010

Amazon | During the last 50 years, coincident with the Space Age, cosmic evolution has been recognized as the master narrative of the universe, history writ large. Cosmic evolution includes physical, biological, and cultural evolution, and of these the latter is by far the most rapid.

In this volume, authors with diverse backgrounds in science, history, anthropology, and more, consider culture in the context of the cosmos. How… read more

Counterspace: The Next Hours of World War III

July 13, 2010

Counterspace: The Next Hours of World War III

author |
William B. Scott, Michael J. Coumatos, William J. Birnes
year published |
2009

Amazon | In Space Wars, Scott, Coumatos, and Birnes created a fascinating war gaming scenario of how World War III might unfold in above the Earth’s surface.  Now this thrilling team of writers reunites with Counterspace, an even more chilling fictionalized look at America’s most catastrophic fears.

What if North Korea detonated a nuclear weapon in space and silenced dozens of satellites?

What if an Iranian missile… read more

Creating Innovators

October 29, 2012

Creating Innovators

author |
Tony Wagner
year published |
2012

In this groundbreaking book, education expert Tony Wagner provides a powerful rationale for developing an innovation-driven economy. He explores what parents, teachers, and employers must do to develop the capacities of young people to become innovators. In profiling compelling young American innovators such as Kirk Phelps, product manager for Apple’s first iPhone, and Jodie Wu, who founded a company that builds bicycle-powered maize shellers in Tanzania, Wagner reveals how… read more

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

April 7, 2014

creativity_inc

author |
Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace
year published |
2014

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve… read more

Crux

August 9, 2013

crux-cover

author |
Ramez Naam
year published |
2013

Six months have passed since the release of Nexus 5.  The world is a different, more dangerous place.

In the United States, the terrorists — or freedom fighters — of the Post-Human Liberation Front use Nexus to turn men and women into human time bombs aimed at the President and his allies. In Washington DC, a government scientist, secretly addicted to Nexus, uncovers more than he wants to know… read more

Culturing Life: How Cells Became Technologies

March 27, 2012

culturinglife

author |
Hannah Landecker
year published |
2007

Amazon | How did cells make the journey, one we take so much for granted, from their origin in living bodies to something that can be grown and manipulated on artificial media in the laboratory, a substantial biomass living outside a human body, plant, or animal? This is the question at the heart of Hannah Landecker’s book. She shows how cell culture changed the way we think about such central… read more

Cyber War: The Next Threat to National Security and What to Do About It

August 4, 2011

Cyber War book cover

author |
Richard A. Clarke, Robert K. Knake
year published |
2010

Amazon | Richard A. Clarke warned America once before about the havoc terrorism would wreak on our national security — and he was right. Now he warns us of another threat, silent but equally dangerous. Cyber War is a powerful book about technology, government, and military strategy; about criminals, spies, soldiers, and hackers. This is the first book about the war of the future — cyber war — and a convincing argument… read more

Cyber-Humans: Our Future with Machines

November 16, 2015

41xCKupnNGL

author |
Woodrow Barfield
year published |
2015

It is predicted that robots will surpass human intelligence within the next fifty years.The ever increasing speed of advances in technology and neuroscience, coupled with the creation of super computers and enhanced body parts and artificial limbs, is paving the way for a merger of both human and machine.

Devices which were once worn on the body are now being implanted into the body, and as a result,… read more

Cybernetic Revelation: Deconstructing Artificial Intelligence

December 10, 2012

Cybernetic Revelation

author |
JD Casten
year published |
2012

Cybernetic Revelation explores the dual philosophical histories of deconstruction and artificial intelligence, tracing the development of concepts like the “logos” and the notion of modeling the mind technologically from pre-history to contemporary thinkers like Slavoj Žižek, Steven Pinker, Bernard Stiegler and Daniel C. Dennett. The writing is clear and accessible throughout, yet the text probes deeply into major philosophers seen by JD Casten as “conceptual engineers.”

Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know

February 26, 2014

0199918112.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

author |
P. W. Singer
year published |
2014

A generation ago, “cyberspace” was just a term from science fiction, used to describe the nascent network of computers linking a few university labs. Today, our entire modern way of life, from communication to commerce to conflict, fundamentally depends on the Internet. And the cybersecurity issues that result challenge literally everyone: politicians wrestling with everything from cybercrime to online freedom; generals protecting the nation from new forms of attack,… read more

Cycles of Time: An Extraordinary New View of the Universe

May 5, 2011

Cycles of Time book cover

author |
Roger Penrose
year published |
2011

Amazon | From the best-selling author of The Emperor’s New Mind and The Road to Reality, a groundbreaking book that provides new views on three of cosmology’s most profound questions: What, if anything, came before the Big Bang? What is the source of order in our universe? What is its ultimate future?

Current understanding of our universe dictates that all matter will eventually thin out to zero density,… read more

Daemon

September 3, 2010

daemon

author |
Daniel Suarez
year published |
2009

Amazon | Originally self-published, Suarez’s riveting debut would be a perfect gift for a favorite computer geek or anyone who appreciates thrills, chills and cyber suspense. Gaming genius Matthew Sobol, the 34-year-old head of CyberStorm Entertainment, has just died of brain cancer, but death doesn’t stop him from initiating an all-out Internet war against humanity. When the authorities investigate Sobol’s mansion in Thousand Oaks, Calif., they find… read more

close and return to Home