Most Recently Added Most commentedby pub dateBy Title | A-ZBy Author | A-Z

The Zero Marginal Cost Society: The Internet of Things, the Collaborative Commons, and the Eclipse of Capitalism

April 10, 2014

1137278463.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
Jeremy Rifkin
Publisher:
Palgrave Macmillan (2014)

In The Zero Marginal Cost Society, New York Times bestselling author Jeremy Rifkin describes how the emerging Internet of Things is speeding us to an era of nearly free goods and services, precipitating the meteoric rise of a global Collaborative Commons and the eclipse of capitalism.

Rifkin uncovers a paradox at the heart of capitalism that has propelled it to greatness but is now taking it to its… read more

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

April 7, 2014

creativity_inc

Author:
Ed Catmull, Amy Wallace
Publisher:
Random House (2014)

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve… read more

Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities

April 1, 2014

1940689007.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
Kevin Kelly
Publisher:
Cool Tools Lab (2013)

Cool Tools is a highly curated selection of the best tools available for individuals and small groups. Tools include hand tools, maps, how-to books, vehicles, software, specialized devices, gizmos, websites — and anything useful. Tools are selected and presented in the book if they are the best of kind, the cheapest, or the only thing available that will do the job. This is an oversized book which reviews over… read more

Human Destiny is to Eliminate Death — Essays & Debates on Immortality

March 31, 2014

Human-Destiny

Author:
Hank Pellissier
Publisher:
Center for Transhumanity (2013)

35 Essays and 10 Debates on life extension and the future of medicine. ISBN: 9780991982417. Authors include:

  • Dr. Martine Rothblatt: Ph.D; JD; MBA ~ Founder: United Therapeutics, PPH Cure Foundation, GeoStar, PanAmStat and Sirius XM ~ Member of the Institute for Ethics & Emerging Technologies Board of Trustees. Martine successfully led the International Bar Association’s project to develop a draft Human Genome Treaty for the United Nations.
    ~

read more

The Peripheral

March 31, 2014
Author:
William Gibson
Publisher:
Putnam Adult (2014)

William Gibson returns with his first novel since 2010’s New York Times–bestselling Zero History.

Where Flynne and her brother Burton live, jobs outside the drug business are rare. Fortunately, Burton has his veteran’s benefits, for neural damage he suffered from implants during his time in the USMC’s elite Haptic Recon force. Then one night Burton has to go out, but there’s a job he’s supposed to do—a job Flynne… read more

Mindful Universe: Quantum Mechanics and the Participating Observer (The Frontiers Collection)

March 24, 2014

3642180752.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
Henry P. Stapp
Publisher:
Springer (2011)

The classical mechanistic idea of nature that prevailed in science during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries was an essentially mindless conception: the physically described aspects of nature were asserted to be completely determined by prior physically described aspects alone, with our conscious experiences entering only passively. During the twentieth century the classical concepts were found to be inadequate. In the new theory, quantum mechanics, our conscious experiences enter into… read more

Computing with Quantum Cats: From Colossus to Qubits

March 20, 2014

1616149213.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
John Gribbin
Publisher:
Prometheus Books (2014)

A mind-blowing glimpse into the near future, where quantum computing will have world-transforming effects.

The quantum computer is no longer the stuff of science fiction. Pioneering physicists are on the brink of unlocking a new quantum universe which provides a better representation of reality than our everyday experiences and common sense ever could.

The birth of quantum computers — which, like Schrödinger’s famous “dead and alive” cat,… read more

Revolutions: Paving the Way for the Bioeconomy

March 20, 2014

41t7101JdXL

Author:
Randall E Mayes
Publisher:
Logos Press (2012)

Futurists have touted the 21st century as the century of biology primarily due to the potential of genomics. That potential is based on anticipated revolutions. These revolutions present themselves in many fashions. Revolutions: Paving the Way for the Bioeconomy is an in-depth look at these revolutions.

Industrial Revolutions
Genomics researchers hope to launch personalized medicine and cure diseases by identifying drug targets and create novel therapies such as… read more

Extreme Planets: A Science Fiction Anthology of Alien Worlds

March 19, 2014

713WnEs-wfL

Author:
David Conyers, David Kernot, Jeff Harris
Publisher:
Chaosium Inc. (2014)

Two decades ago astronomers confirmed the existence of planets orbiting stars other than our Sun. Today more than 800 such worlds have been identified, and scientists now estimate that at least 160 billion star-bound planets are to be found in the Milky Way Galaxy alone. But more surprising is just how diverse and bizarre those worlds are.

Extreme Planets is a science fiction anthology of stories set on… read more

Saving Juno (The Juno Trilogy)

March 10, 2014

Cover 1a - jpg

Author:
Larry Kilham
Publisher:
Lawrence B. Kilham (2014)

NSA’s major computer center is being taken over by an international plot to control the world. Juno, the AI supercomputer revered by the free world is endangered, and Dr. Tom Renwick, Juno’s developer and handler, is kidnapped. Civilization as we know it is threatened. What to do?

In this fast-paced thriller, Tom’s super brain computer scientist son, Primo, is thrown into the fray. With a mysterious agent, Wildflower,… read more

3D Printing: Rise of the Third Industrial Revolution

March 10, 2014

cover

Author:
Aaron Council, Michael Petch, Edward Long
Publisher:
gyges3d.com (2014)

Have you ever wondered what a world where any item you desired was available at the click of a button would look like?

In 2014, 3D printing will go mainstream. 3D Printing: Rise of the Third Industrial Revolution scrutinizes what this will mean for the world and the future of humanity.

The ability for anyone to print guns, drugs, or iPhones is getting closer. This means a… read more

Best of H+ Magazine, Vol.1: 2008–2010

March 10, 2014

Best-of-H+

Author:
R.U. Sirius, Ben Goertzel, David Orban
Publisher:
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2014)

Best of H+ Magazine, Vol. 1 is edited by counterculture legend R.U. Sirius, and brought to you by futurist organization Humanity+. It is our great privilege to live in an era when H+ — the extension of humanity beyond its traditional biological form — is not merely fantasy but a reasonable description of the practical, everyday unfolding of science and technology. H+ Magazine has provided a venue for edgy,… read more

The Naked Future: What Happens in a World that Anticipates Your Every Move?

March 8, 2014
Author:
Patrick Tucker
Publisher:
Penguin (2014)

“Patrick Tucker’s thought-provoking, eye-opening, and highly entertaining book The Naked Future skillfully illustrates how the intelligent analysis of big data is allowing us to see into the future with ever-increasing precision.” — Ray Kurzweil

Right now the power of big data is in the hands of those mega-institutions inside the cryptic vaults of the NSA, the pioneers of Silicon Valley, and at the fingertips of Madison Avenue.… read more

Social Physics: How Good Ideas Spread — The Lessons from a New Science

March 7, 2014

1594205655.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
Alex Pentland
Publisher:
Penguin Press HC, The (2014)

From one of the world’s leading data scientists, a landmark tour ofthe new science of idea flow, offering revolutionary insights into the mysteries of collective intelligence and social influence

If the Big Data revolution has a presiding genius, it is MIT’s Alex “Sandy” Pentland. Over years of groundbreaking experiments, he has distilled remarkable discoveries significant enough to become the bedrock of a whole new scientific field: social physics.… read more

Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know

February 26, 2014

0199918112.01.S001.LXXXXXXX

Author:
P. W. Singer
Publisher:
Oxford University Press, USA (2014)

A generation ago, “cyberspace” was just a term from science fiction, used to describe the nascent network of computers linking a few university labs. Today, our entire modern way of life, from communication to commerce to conflict, fundamentally depends on the Internet. And the cybersecurity issues that result challenge literally everyone: politicians wrestling with everything from cybercrime to online freedom; generals protecting the nation from new forms of attack,… read more

close and return to Home